Toss the Franks, Bring on the Salmon

During these warm summer months there is a permanent, lingering scent of burning coals escaping from backyard grilles all over the city.  I love BBQs.  It is one of my favorite things about the summertime, but if there is one thing a foodie gets over really fast it’s the food.  The usual suspects of franks and burgers, potato salad and deviled eggs all have earned their rightful place on the picnic table but they tend to fall flat for me.  Like the title of my blog explains, I live to eat, so bring on the unexpected, the bold, the finger-lickin’ goodness.  I mean, just look at the pics, we are serious about literally licking this stuff up.

This weekend I had a grill night with my cousin and sister and I took it as an opportunity to create an unconventional, light BBQ dish.  I had salmon in the fridge and started doing some research.  What I came up with was a herb aioli  with fresh basil, lemon juice, anchovies and a touch of Sriracha hot sauce.  Watch out because this sauce packs a punch–it is honestly so tasty.  You might see a friend or two dip their fingers into the bowl (we couldn’t help ourselves).

For those of you wondering “what in the world is aioli??” it is simply a garlic mayonnaise, a base of egg, olive oil and garlic.  When I prepared this, I decided to cheat and use already prepared low-fat mayonnaise as the base to my zesty herb aioli and it came out more creamy than I think it would have had I made the aioli from scratch.

This would taste great not only on fish, but also on poultry, grilled vegetables and even as a base in a pasta salad.  On this particular night we ate the aioli atop salmon fillets with grilled zucchini, eggplant and squash.  I brushed some of the aioli on the veggies while they were cooking on the gill.  Delish.  Below is the recipe.  Enjoy this brightly colored and super flavorful summer treat! We certainly enjoyed it.

Green Herb Aioli

3 Tbsp (low-fat) mayonnaise

2 Tbsp fresh basil chopped

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 Tbsp room temperature water

1 large garlic clove minced (1 Dorot cube- just prepackaged crushed garlic)

1 1/3 tsp anchovy paste

1 tsp red wine vinegar

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/4 tsp Sriracha hot sauce

salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together and blend until creamy and smooth.  I doubled the recipe and had plenty leftover.

like I said, finger lickin’ good

One thought on “Toss the Franks, Bring on the Salmon

Leave a Reply

