Bistro fare out in Cleveland Park

Last night I went out to dinner to catch up with a good friend.  We went over to Cleveland Park and found this cute little Bistro that had just opened right across the street from 2Amys pizzeria.   We decided to try it out; french bistro fare with plenty of fish options, which was perfect for my vegetarian friend.  Le Zinc, our Cleveland Park dinner spot, has just opened about a month ago.  The two owners: John Warner and David Ashwell both used to work at the widely known Brasserie Beck, so we figured it was worth a try.

As soon as we walked through the door, we were overwhelmed by the aroma of garlic and herbs, so yummy.  The kitchen is open to the dining room so not only does it perfume the entire restaurant but it also makes the restaurant a bit smokey. We were sat a small table against the wall on the lower level and with a glass of wine in hand we looked at the menu.  We decided to split a bunch of small plates. 

The first dish was an Alaskan cured salmon with dill and dijon, new potatoes, creme fraiche and salmon roe.  I found the dish delightful.  There was something crunchy that I couldn’t figure what it was in the dish but it was tasty. 

The second dish was a fried goat cheese salad with tomato chutney and walnut oil vinaigrette.  I thought this was also tasty.  The tomato chutney made the dish for me. 

The third dish was a pan-seared sea scallop with cauliflower puree, crispy potatoes and a caper and raisin sauce.  This was my favorite dish of the night by far.  Every piece to this dish was very flavorful without overpowering the other elements.  Very nice. 

Finally we had the mussels because who can go to a french bistro without getting mussels.  The broth was a little bland for me, the mussels themselves were cooked very nicely and the french fries they came with were super salty. 

Overall I had a lovely time catching up with my friend over a tasty meal.  I thought it was good but I wouldn’t go out of my way to stop by again.  The space is small, at first I thought it was cozy but when we sat down I felt very cramped.  The service was nothing special but John Warner, co-owner of Le Zinc was very attentive and was ensuring order by his staff on this busy night.  If you’re in the neighborhood, go greet your new neighbors at Le Zinc. 

Bon Appetit!

One thought on “Bistro fare out in Cleveland Park

Leave a Reply

