The game plan

the key to success is an air-tight game plan.  Anticipate the roadblocks so when they show up, there is no chance to get derailed.  My game plan includes several things: a great support system, incredible recipes and Whole Foods vegan blueberry pie on hand.  I’m serious about the blueberry pie thing.  My girlfriend brought one over to my house and it only took a few days for me to eat the entire thing.  With every bite I warded off the guilt saying to myself, well this can’t possibly be bad for me because it’s vegan.  I know, I know I’m in denial but the blueberry pie was really good and I didn’t have to think about whether I could eat it or not. I just walked into the kitchen, grabbed a fork and ate the pie right out of the package.  I have to say to all you vegans out there, Whole Foods does a damn good vegan pie.  Okay now that I’m done talking about my love affair with pie…

Here is a list of sites that I have been referencing in my research of the lifestyle and recipes that are vegan friendly.  I highly recommend these sites.  I would love for all of you to please comment with any other sites you have found and fallen in love with that promote vegetarian and/or vegan dishes.

Veggie Belly–I like this site because the recipes are ethnic.  I have not done enough experimenting with Indian dishes but this site makes me want to.  Not all recipes are vegan but all are vegetarian.

The Vegan Stoner–This is a site my sister told me about.  I like the cartoon illustrations and everything on the site is vegan so you don’t have to worry about substituting or subtracting ingredients.

Vegan Dad–I like these recipes because the writer is a dad who has little kids.  This means that the dishes go through rigid scrutiny by his kids.  Whatever the kids won’t eat, he won’t necessarily make and as a result you get recipes with 2 stamps of approval and therefore will be twice as likely to enjoy.

VegDC–This site is a great resource for individuals living in DC.  Who knew there was an organized vegetarian/vegan community that set up their own speed dating night?! Pretty cool.  They host mixers, let people know of new stores, events and restaurants that are veg and vegan friendly in the neighborhood and more.

101 Cookbooks–Vegetarian recipes, beautiful pictures.

Post Punk Kitchen–My roommate just made the vegan Moussaka and it was A-MA-ZING.  Seriously, she is Greek and thought this take on a classic dish tasted out of this world so…

Okay there are plenty more sites out there and I’ll be sure to post them as the days progresses but right now I want to get to what I made for dinner tonight.  Spinach fettuccine with sautéed mushrooms and Alfredo sauce!!

I’m telling you this dish was so legit.  I decided to make one of the least vegan friendly dishes and it came out so tasty.  I never allow myself to eat Alfredo sauce normally because of the cream and butter but I found a vegan version and decided to give it a whirl.   The Alfredo sauce recipe is brought to you by Vegan Dad.  Good job Dad, you 100% fooled me, no joke. I mean I know the recipe is called “Best Ever Vegan Alfredo” but I was skeptical.  This is definitely a fool-your-friends-and-roomies recipe.  I topped mine with a little shredded soy Mozzarella cheese and simply sautéed the mushrooms in a little olive oil, white wine, paprika, salt and pepper.  Delish, easy to make and 100% vegan friendly. Keep following along.


5 thoughts on “The game plan

    • I’m so glad you think so. I mean saying to someone “I’m going to make soy Alfredo” doesn’t really sound appetizing to most but it tasted really good.

Leave a Reply

