Lunch Break

My roommate and I took a walk to Union Station this afternoon not only to enjoy the glorious sun (what a wonderful day?!) but also to partake in some good ol’ food truck fun.  The food trucks in DC have become a fairly popular lunch experience and I could not be more thrilled.  I love the idea of trying something new and exciting for cheap.  The idea of these guys coming to different neighborhoods and delivering a tasty and often creative meal right in front of your eyes gets me so excited.  Today was a perfect food truck day: the air was crisp, the sun was shining and my stomach was growling.

I chose to get a burrito bowl from Sol Mexican Grill (with guac, green and red salsa) while my roommate decided to get messy with a pulled pork sandwich from Porc Mobile.

For dessert we both shared a pumpkin cheesecake from Sweetz Cheesecake. I don’t even really like cheesecake but this was A-MA-ZING.  It reminded me of Thanksgiving.  There wasn’t too much crust and it certainly wasn’t a hard crust that would break your fork.  The cheesecake was creamy and light, not super dense which I can’t stand.

Plus the guys working The Cheesecake Truc were nice, they even posed for a quick pic.

So go out and support local businesses or at least enjoy this wonderful weather we are having.  I give a big thumbs up to all three trucks.  Props guys.  Looking forward to more trucks coming out to Union Station in the near future.

One thought on “Lunch Break

Leave a Reply

