A Meal Fit For a King

Thank you all for bearing with me.  Going out-of-town can really throw a girl off her routine.  Like I had said in my previous post, Thanksgiving is my family’s thing.  We love this holiday.

I have a lot of pictures from the big event.  All of them can be found on my flickr link.  Below are the highlights.  Dessert first:

Homemade apricot and raspberry rugelach that my aunt made.  This is a pastry, the word rugelach is a yiddish word that kind of translates into “little twists.”   The dough of rugelach is either sour cream or cram cheese based and swirled into the dough is usually some combination of jelly, nuts, raisins, cinnamon and sugar.

My aunt’s cranberry apple pie.  This is always made for our Thanksgiving feast.  I don’t really like apple pie but I love my aunt’s cranberry apple pie.

This is our profiteroles dough.  Now profiteroles are kind of like a cream puff.  These Hershey kisses looking balls of dough puff up to be twice the size after they come out of the oven.  The pastry is hollow in the middle and filled with either whipped cream, ice cream or some kind of mouse.  Then the profiteroles can be topped with a sauce (my favorite is chocolate sauce).  I know you’ll hate me but I didn’t take a picture of the finished product maybe because my fingers were sticky but nobody knows for sure.    Just look it up though, they are pretty decadent when finished.  We filled our pastries with a pumpkin custard (think pumpkin pie filling) and topped them with a bourbon caramel sauce.  Now, lift your jaw off the floor.  It is a spectacular dessert.

Lets eat some grub!

Moving clockwise lets start at 6 o’clock.  We have creamed onions (originating from Julia Child’s The Art of French Cooking), sweet potato and Bosc pear mash, brussel sprouts (which the neighbors made), dark and white meat turkey slices, cranberry sauce (that my boyfriend made) and a wild mushroom and chestnut stuffing.  Oh yeah and who could forget the GRAVY!

I wish I could bath in you oh glorious gravy.  This stuff is horrible for you but oh my, when it touches your lips, it is pure heaven.  I made sure to use plenty of gravy during my thanksgiving meal.

The turkey weighed just over 24 lbs. It was HUGE, no wait, huge is an understatement.  This guy was massive!  We put him in a brine bath for 10 hours then let him rest for another 10 hours, stuffed him, basted him  while in the oven for several hours.  All that lovin’ really paid off because  Thanksgiving evening he was the most delicious bird that ever lived.

Here’s a picture of my sister basting the big boy.  Look at that huge smile, she knows where the magic is (in the kitchen).

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday.  My family did. Now go check out the rest of my pictures from Thanksgiving madness.

Leave a Reply

