Veggilicious

This is a deconstructed falafel and seriously delicious.  It looks like a million bucks and just so happens to be packed full of protein, vitamins and minerals.  I got this recipe from the Vegan Stoner.  I made a couple of tweeks to the recipe, partly because I didn’t have everything on hand.  The best thing about this recipe is that it literally took me 15 minutes to make from start to finish.  It is perfect for a weeknight dinner and super nutritious.

Start with falafel dry mix and a little water.  Mix until you reach a doughy consistency.

Spread the falafel dough in a pie pan and bake for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees until cooked thoroughly.  Remove from the oven and let cool.

Now take some pre-made or homemade hummus and spread it around the bottom of the “pie.”

Spread a layer of sliced cucumbers.

Then a layer of freshly sliced tomatoes.

Now take the other half cucumber, scrape the seeds out, chop it up, add the juice from half a lemon and 8 ounces of greek yogurt and blend it all up.

Now spread some of this fresh, tangy sauce over the pie.

If I had pine nuts, I’d add them to the top of the pie.  I had a lovely olive tapenade in the fridge so I decided to top the pie with little bits of the tapenade, such a GOOD CHOICE!

This dish is nom, nom delicious.  The recipe is right here.  Thanks a million Vegan Stoner Blog!!

You mad my Monday night into a fabulous culinary adventure.

One thought on “Veggilicious

  1. I tried this and it was AWESOME! Way better than I expected. I used roasted tomato hummus and I forgot to add the olive topping. The cucumber greek yogurt topping was really amazing! Thanks for the recipe!
    Hailes

Leave a Reply

