Leftovers Sunday

Tonight I didn’t have any genius plan for making dinner.  I had not been to the grocery store in a week but I did have a few random things left in the refrigerator and pantry.  I made it work and it was delicious but it wasn’t a piece of art by any stretch.

I pumped up a simple Annie’s White Cheddar Shells with some fresh veggies and feta cheese crumbles.

I first followed the mac’n’cheese box instructions. I then cut up some kale, red bell pepper and red onion.

I flash cooked the kale in a little water until the leaves turn bright green, not brown.

I then sauteed the red bell peppers, red onion and a clove of garlic.

Once the veggies were tender, I removed the  veggies and deglazed the pan with a little white wine.  I then combined the veggies, deglazed liquid and cheese packet mixture in the original pot the macaroni was cooked in.

I added the macaroni and some feta cheese.  I added salt and pepper to taste.  Viola! Dinner on the fly.

It isn’t the most gourmet thing I’ve ever made/eaten but I made something beautiful out of something from a box.  For a Sunday evening, this was a pretty darn good effort.  Bon appetit!

Ingredients:

box of white cheddar macaroni of choice (I used Annie’s gluten free)

2-3 Tbsp milk

3 Tbsp butter

1 cup of chopped kale

1/4 red bell pepper

2 Tbsp chopped red onion (or yellow onion)

1 clove of garlic minced

1/3 cup feta cheese

1/4-1/3 cup of white wine (optional)

salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • Follow the directions on the macaroni box–boil the water, cook the shells, drain.  In the original pot combine a couple tablespoons of milk, cheese packet from the box and tablespoon of butter.
  • Meanwhile heat a skillet to medium high heat. Add chopped kale and a couple tablespoons of water.  Flash cook the kale until the leaves turn bright green (about 1 1/2 minute and no longer otherwise they will brown).  Add a pinch of salt and pepper.  Remove from the heat and place in a bowl to sit.
  • Heat the saute pan to medium heat.  Add a little butter, the red bell pepper and onion.  Saute for a minute.  Add the garlic and saute for another few minutes.  When softened remove veggies.
  • Place the pan back on the heat and degalze with white wine.
  • In the original pot the macaroni was cooked in add the veggies, deglazing liquid, cheese packet, milk and butter.  Mix then add the drained and cooked macaroni and cumbled feta cheese.
  • Reheat and serve.  Serves 3 medium bowls or 2 large bowls.
Leave a Reply

