There’s Something Fishy Going On

This weekend I got my fist glimpse of summer, only better–the sun was shining, there was a breeze, and hardly any humidity–a rarity in DC.  It was the perfect weather for biking out to the waterfront and feasting on seafood from the fish market.  I’ve lived in DC for nearly two years and have never been to the waterfront, shameful I know, but I finally crossed it off my list this weekend.

It was so fun.  Just to people watch and peruse the extensive fresh seafood at each of the vendors was exciting enough.  Then to top it off, there was plenty of fresh seafood to try, yummy.

There were blue crabs, giant crab legs, lobsters, oysters, clams, mussels, shrimp, crawfish, an assortment of different fishes-some already fileted and others being sold whole-oh and did I mention there were crabs?

 

I was impressed with how fresh and clean the whole market was.  I guess I was expecting a smelly run-down looking place but I truly got inspired to make some dishes I have never tried before.

Doesn’t that Red Snapper look beautiful?

I have never seen live Conch like that before.  As you can tell there were a lot of options in the market.

Ultimately, I decided to chow down on some raw and fried oysters.  I mean how can you say no when they are getting shucked right in front of you.

Don’t ask me to pick a favorite between the raw and fried oysters, that is like asking my mother to say which one of her daughters she loves more.  She’ll never admit who it is 😀 Thanks for keeping us guessing mom.

Oh these babies were good, I mean really good.  Hit the spot for sure.  That is why all these people waited patiently in line, they knew how good it was.

I highly recommend you make it out to the waterfront at some point this spring/summer.  It makes for a fun afternoon.

Leave a Reply

