Twist and Shout

First off–I’ve missed you all so much (BIG cyber hug).  I know that it has been a while but I’m back and have some fun future post ideas.  As summer goes, things get very busy but I’ll work hard to post weekly.  Today we are going to talk pretzels.  I love pretzels.  I have childhood memories of my parents buying me a salty pretzel from a street vender in New York City and at baseball games or a cinnamon sugar pretzel from the food court in the mall.  In my (somewhat) adult life I have tried restricting myself from eating such carb-heavy foods but I just love it, don’t think i can quite these bad boys.

So when my roommate asked if I wanted to help her make pretzels, I was all in!  We had so much fun, we made traditional pretzels, pretzel bites, cinnamon sugar pretzels and even pretzel dogs!

This was both of our first attempts at making pretzels so they maybe weren’t the most beautiful things we had ever made, but they sure were tasty.  They are really easy to make, if you can get the pretzel design down–we had some difficulty getting them to look uniform but that was kind of the fun, each one we made got a little better though.

I have to say,  the cinnamon sugar pretzels were my favorite, but who doesn’t love something sweet.  The pretzel dogs we made were pretty fun too. Just slather a little grainy mustard on there, we also made a cheese sauce to dunk these babies in–scrumptious.

We used Alton Brown’s recipe found on the food network website, you can find the recipe here.  What I never realized is that you boil AND bake the pretzels.  So once the dough has risen, you can cut and form the dough into whatever shapes and sizes you like.

For the classic pretzel shape, roll the dough out to anywhere between 6-12 inches long.  Then take the ends and begin to move them like you would to create a heart (so towards each other) but instead of meeting the two ends together, overlap them then pinch each end to the center of the rope.  Here is a video to show you what I’m talking about, I know that for me a visual is key.

After creating your shapes, you will first boil them for about 30 seconds in a water/baking soda mixture, then place them on a baking sheet and lightly paint them with egg wash.

You will then bake these tasty treats in the oven for about 12=14 minutes or until they are golden brown.  This is also when you put the salt or cinnamon sugar on the pretzels.

To make the pretzel dogs, all we did was thaw the dogs, then wrap them in dough, about 10 inches in length, boil them for about 30 seconds, then threw in the oven for about 15-17 minutes.

This would be a perfect treat to make with kids or as a snack while watching the baseball game this summer-it’ll make you feel like you’re at the ball park.

One thought on “Twist and Shout

  1. I have to say that I love a good pretzel! I will definatly try the cinnimon sugar topping. Can you say YUMM?

Leave a Reply

