Where Have I Been?

Hi everyone!

I know I haven’t posted in a hot minute and I’m sorry. Now is probably the best time to fill you in on my life happenings i.e. my distractions from writing and cooking.

In the beginning of December my mom started her fight against cancer.  Additionally, I have been studying for the GRE so I can go back to school and get a Masters in Public Health, joined a community garden and am about to start volunteering at the Columbia Heights farmers market.  All of these events have only reinforced my passion for food and the belief that the right combination of whole foods can serve as our first line of defense; whole foods not only give us more energy but also boosts our immune systems and fight against all kinds of diseases and “symptoms” of growing older.  I have been very distracted over the last several months but all is well, just a slight imbalance of time and energy. Sorry to have put the blog towards the bottom of the list, hopefully I will resume posting routinely in the near future but in the meantime, you’ll just have to  sit tight.

When I found out about my mom, I wasn’t sure what I could do or how I could help.  My good friend introduced me to this fantastic book called The Cancer Fighting Kitchen by Rebecca Katz.  I love this book because Rebecca Katz is an Registered Dietitian who, in creating this book, interviewed a number of different oncologists, cancer wellness professionals, and patients to develop delicious, seasonal recipes that can help folks recovering from cancer-fighting treatments feel more comfortable with common side effects such as nausea, metallic sense of taste, constipation and fatigue, as well as giving the body nutritious rich meals that will help boost the body’s immune system.  Rebecca Katz  refers to this as the “power of yum.”

Of course I’m more excited about this kind of stuff than my mom, who I found out recently requested pizza during her chemotherapy treatments on the regular (can you blame her?).  It was a very exciting food discovery for me, I’m looking forward to borrowing the book for myself as the recipes are fresh, colorful and really very delicious.

Also, a quick update on my green thumb.  In collaboration with my interest for eating seasonally and locally, my roommates and I are gardening at the Bruce Monroe Park Community Garden up in Columbia Heights off of Columbia Road.  Over the last two weeks we have started our seeds, turned the soil of our personal plot and planted some vegetables in the community plot.  So far it is going really well.

Here’s our plot, looks a little naked now but come next month it will be very green and happy.

photo 3

The seedlings that we planted at home just two weeks ago are also really starting to take off.  We decided to start indoors as it is a more controlled environment and it has been a little cold over the last month.  We decided to get the plants nice and strong before transplanting them into a more unforgiving environment.  The plants we are growing include spinach, edamame, peppers, carrots, sunflowers and beets.  In the community plot we just recently planted broccoli, lettuce, green beans and chard as they do better in slightly cooler environments.

Here’s a sneak peek at our little seedlings; you’ll notice that the seeds are hanging out on my dresser, it happens to get some of the best light in our house so we placed them there. We used a Jiffy Greenhouse kit, which included starter soil “pellets” and a dome to cover the seeds.  It was super simple and fairly mistake proof.

photo 2

 

photo 1

Higher resolution pictures soon to come.  I will be sure to document every step of this gardening process as it is my first attempt at sustainable living.  I’d also appreciate any gardening tips you all have.

Thanks everyone! Talk soon!

 

Leave a Reply

