Chicka, Chicka, Boom Boom

I love chickpeas! I love them roasted, toasted, blended, mashed and even raw.  Most of us had our first introduction to chickpeas (or garbanzo beans) with the middle eastern dip–hummus–and continue to enjoy garbanzos mostly in dips. Garbanzos, while small in size, are rich in fiber and protein, low in fat, and can easily be incorporated into soups, salads, veggie burgers, or dips.

Now I love hummus just as much as the next person but the legume is so versatile I needed to force myself outside the box a little–try chickpeas in a new way.

When I stumbled on this recipe for lemony curried chickpea salad several months ago, I felt like I had hit the jackpot.  The recipe, found on The Iron You, a blog written by a talented food enthusiast and triathlete,  is super easy.  The number of ingredients and the preparation time required to make this dish could not be less or simpler.  If you use canned chickpeas, the dish shouldn’t take you more than 30 minutes to prepare.

chickpeas 3

Since discovering the lemony curried chickpeas recipe, I have made them  several times–I actually crave the spice, heat, acidity and crunch found in every bite of this salad.  The turmeric in the recipe brings a strong yellow hue to the dish which contrasts nicely to the bright green specs of cilantro speckled across the chickpeas and diced onion.  There is so much flavor going on in this dish, your taste buds (or guests) won’t believe that it only took a few minutes to throw together.

chickpeas 5

Today I am asking you to eat chickpeas in a new recipe.  Put down the hummus and pick up a skillet.

Thanks everyone and happy Wednesday!

 Here is the link to Lemony Curried Chickpeas.

Another recipe that I’m obsessed with, where chickpeas play a staring roll, can be found on a blog entitled Vegan Dad.  Who wants to munch on Crispy Cajun Chickpea Cakes? I love the alliteration!

And a BONUS, the chicka chicka boom boom animated song! ENJOY FOLKS.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

