I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream For Ice Cream

I know that it’s January, the dead of winter, but have you ever experienced a craving for ice cream while it’s cold outside? I get it all the time.  So when I was home in Denver and there was no ice cream in the freezer, I simply had to make some.

IMG_5055

I did not have an ice cream maker, and you do not need an ice cream maker to produce ice cream.  Yes, the consistency is a little different when you make ice cream without a designated ice cream maker, but the flavor is spot on!

I looked up ice cream recipes and finally decided on the easiest method: mix all ingredients together and freeze.  It actually came out pretty good.  The flavors were spot on, it was super milky and rich, but there were a few ice crystals in the mix, so not exact on texture.  Now if you too want to make ice cream at home, I have included the recipe I used as well as a few other methods to making ice cream.  One method involves using a plastic bag, another mix-and-freeze-mix-and-freeze-again method.

Granted, it’s probably cheaper to buy a pint of ready-made ice cream than to make your own.  But get a little adventurous this January! I would suggest trying not only a creamy ice cream version but also something fruity, like a sorbet–the ice crystals are probably less noticeable in a sorbet.

IMG_5001

The version of ice cream I made was cherry vanilla chocolate chip.  I was really just was thinking about what ingredients I had in the house.  We had cherries in the house that were on their last leg and my mom had a brand new de-pitter.  To quickly go off on a tangent, have you ever used such a device? It is AMAZING! It is so easy to use and I wanted to de-pit everything in the fridge!!

IMG_4992

IMG_4995

Okay, back to the ice cream.  The nice thing about using vanilla ice cream as your base is that you can build on it.  Feel free to add whichever toppings strike your fancy when making ice cream from scratch. Maybe try chopping up candy bars like Snickers or Reeses. Alternatively, you could add chopped up berries and/or nuts.  There’s no wrong way to do this, just get creative.

IMG_5062

Stay warm this week and if possible give in to your ice cream desires.  Bon appetit!

The recipe I used is in the photograph and links below the photo to other recipes for homemade ice cream without using an ice cream maker.

IMG_4999

The “foolproof” method of making ice cream without an ice cream maker

Vegan ice cream

David Lebovitz ice cream

The “bag method” 

Leave a Reply

