Berger Cookies

Hi everyone!

Today I am going to bring everyone up to speed on a regionally famous Baltimore treat: The Berger Cookie! No, they are not savory beef cookies misspelled berger instead of burger. I might have been one of those people until recently–whoops.  I tried my first Berger cookie this week, and I am so excited to share them with all of you. Seriously, I am in big trouble, or rather my figure is in big trouble; I am quite happy about this discovery.

Berger cookies are named after the Berger family, who brought the recipe for this cookie over to Baltimore from their native country of Germany back in the mid 1800s.  The Berger family opened a bakery and sold Berger cookies. Today the De Baufre Baking Company located here in Baltimore makes these infamous Baltimore treats.

IMG_5200

So what is a Berger cookie? Well, it’s a cookie that doesn’t exactly look like much but tastes like ABSOLUTE SIN (that’s a good thing, but also a bad thing if you know what I mean).  It is a thin vanilla cookie disc topped with a THICK layer of chocolate fudge.  It is kind of like a black and white cookie only without the vanilla icing, and instead of icing, it’s fudge, and instead of a thick cookie, its thinner.  So, really it’s nothing like a black and white cookie but that’s the closest thing I can compare it to.  Honestly, it’s like the cookie is a vehicle for getting the fudge to your face, and I must say I like it.

As I mentioned earlier, the De Baufre Baking Company now produces Berger cookies. In Baltimore they are sold in many grocery stores and even some corner stores.  Help me, I’m in danger of Berger cookie overloading!

IMG_5197

Baltimore, you are so cookie savvy.  I am so happy there is a part of Baltimore culture I can eat 🙂  If folks want to buy some, you can now do so online! Also, there might be some recipes online but it won’t taste the same (it just can’t).  Here is the link to order tins of Berger cookies, you will not be disappointed.

IMG_5203

Berger Cookies in the Press:

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/the-berger-cookie-is-baltimores-gift-to-the-chocolate-world-6918029/?no-ist

http://www.baltimoremagazine.net/2014/1/are-berger-cookies-really-all-that

http://articles.baltimoresun.com/2013-11-29/news/bs-ed-bergers-cookies-20131129_1_berger-cookies-letter-comfort-food

One thought on “Berger Cookies

Leave a Reply

